Ric Brown’s trip down memory lane…

We’re taking a trip down memory lane with each of the extraordinary artists from Phase Space. Catch up by scrolling down to the beginning with Sahara Morimoto, Sean Ling, Sarah Fregeau, and Kate Holden.

Ric Brown

Which dance production/performance will you always remember?

When I was in school I saw Holy Body Tattoo perform, Our Brief Eternity at Buddies in Bad Times Theatre, and at that moment I wanted to dance for them. I loved the strength and beauty and rawness of the piece. Years later I was very fortunate to perform Monumental for them. Also, appearing as “the walrus” for Piña Bausch and taking a bow with the company is a performance I will always treasure.

20150423_214147_01_bright

locus plot (2015). Sarah Fregeau, Sahara Morimoto, Ric Brown, Kate Holden. Photo by Makoto Hirata

Who is your dream duet with?

Yvonne Coutts. We worked together at Le Groupe Dance Lab, but never had a duet together. She is an incredible artist. I would love to dance with her.

DSC00004_forweb

elegant equations (2015) Sean Ling and Ric Brown. Photo by Dragonfly Imagery.

Which choreographer, from any era would you like to work with?

Martha Graham! When I studied Graham technique in school, I fell in love with the beauty of it.

stone3

stone leaf shell skin (2014). Ric Brown, Mateo Galindo Torres. Cellist: Shauna Rolston. Photo by Makoto Hirata.

Do you remember the first time you discovered Peggy Baker?

I met Peggy when I was in school at Toronto Dance Theatre. She was a guest teacher and so incredibly generous and inspiring. The first time I saw her perform was the duet, In Thine Eyes, with Doug Varone. It was one of the most beautiful performances I have ever seen. I’ll never forget a specific moment when Peggy hit a light cue with the utmost perfection. I was mesmerized.

What song are you itching to dance to? 

I want to dance to a country music song!! Lol. I love country music and would love to do an amazing duet to a song.

_MG_5245_72dpi

Piano / Quartet (2012) Ric Brown and Sean Ling. Photo by Makoto Hirata.

Do you have a signature dance move?

You need to see MY rendition of Sia’s Chandelier!! Ask Darryl Tracy. THAT is my signature move!

What’s your earliest dance related memory?

In university I was in a musical where I was acting and singing, and at the time, as a non dancer would be choreographed to the back, ” waving my arms “. The dancers were doing all these fantastic tap numbers and having so much fun. I wanted to be part of that! So, when the choreographer opened “Studio 4 Dance”, in the basement of an old abandoned Biway Store, I quickly joined. Soon I was doing kicks and pirouettes to Rhythm is a Dancer! And loving every moment!

20130926_135600_lowrez2

stone leaf shell skin rehearsal (2014). Ric Brown. Photo by Makoto Hirata.

For Peggy Baker Dance Projects:

Ric’s repertoire with Peggy Baker Dance Projects includes moveNight Garden, Piano/Quartet, Split Screen Stereophonic, stone leaf shell skin, land | body | breath and locus plot.

To watch Ric in motion, join us for Phase Space, January 22-30. For tickets and info visit here. Use code EARLY20 for $20 tickets for performances between January 22-24. (Offer expires December 24) 

Leave a Reply

