locus plot dancer : Sean Ling

We’ve already met Ric Brown, and Kate Holden, two of the five fabulous dancers in locus plot, opening April 24.  Although he is no stranger to PBDB, may we now introduce, Sean Ling! Sean’s repertoire with Peggy Baker Dance Projects includes move, Aleatoria, Aleatoric Duet No. 2, Night Garden, interior with moving figures,  coalesce, Piano / QuartetSplit Screen Stereophonic and stone leaf shell skin

SeanSean

PBDP: On your way to rehearsal, what are you listening to?
SL: TRAFFIC.  I’m a commuter cyclist and keep my ears free so I have a better sense of the traffic around me.

Do you have any pets?
I have a cat and a dog. Our cat is very sweet, excellent with children who drag her around and very demanding of affection at 3 am.  Our dog is a Polish Sheepdog and excellent at sitting there and guarding.  My family calls him a marauder, because he devours food or anything that looks like food, in an instant.

What’s your favourite snack?
Pastry with an espresso.

Where are you from originally?
Summerside, PEI.

If you could live anywhere in the world, where would it be?
Canada.

What would be the title of your biography?
Other people’s dances.

Which actor would play you in a movie?
The bald one.

What’s the last thing you tried to DIY?
Replace an electrical switch on a lamp.  It worked.

Tell us about your first dance class.
Me, adult beginner age 18, in a class of 12 year-year old girls. Teacher with her hand between my knees, telling me that I should have my legs so tight together that she wouldn’t be able to pull her hand out.  I have very ticklish knees.

Seeing as this is a show influenced by math – a math question! What is the square root of pi?
I am not good at math. My answer would be sweet potato pie in a square pan. Yum.

Stay tuned for interviews with, Sarah Fregeau and Sahara Morimoto. And be sure to catch them in locus plot, April 24 – May 3. 

Leave a Reply

